EN

NO

DE

Dream now, visit later

Sorry, but the country is closed for all but necessary travel for the moment. Meanwhile, feel free to dream about all the things you can do when we open again. See you soon!

Read more about the Coronavirus and traveling to Lillehammer and Gudbrandsdalen

Welcome to Lillehammer and Gudbrandsdalen

Search Accommodation

Type:
Location:
Location
Eco-certified providers
Classification
Name / Keyword:
  1. Attractions & Culture
    Experience the art, culture and Olympic heritage of Lillehammer and Gudbrandsdalen. Maihaugen open-air museum and the arenas from the 1994 Winter Olympics are popular attractions.
  2.  Norges Olympiske Museum
    ​​​​​​​The museum is temporarily closed to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. The Norwegian Olympic Museum is a top modern and exciting museum. Experience olympic history from ancient times to the present day. The museum is located at Maihaugen in Lillehammer.
    1. Friday, 12th June 2020Sunday, 16th August 2020
    2. Monday, 17th August 2020Wednesday, 23rd December 2020
    3. Saturday, 26th December 2020Wednesday, 30th December 2020
  3. Guide at Maihaugen in her national costume.
    ​​​​​​​The museum is temporarily closed to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. Maihaugen offers activities and experiences for the whole family. Enjoy the idyllic surroundings of this great open-air museum and experience life like in the old days. A collection of more than 200 houses from as far back as the 12th century and until today, including the Garmo stave church.
    1. Friday, 12th June 2020Sunday, 16th August 2020
    2. Thursday, 2nd January 2020Sunday, 16th February 2020
    3. Saturday, 2nd May 2020Sunday, 31st May 2020
    4. Monday, 17th August 2020Wednesday, 23rd December 2020
    5. Tuesday, 7th April 2020Monday, 13th April 2020
    6. Tuesday, 18th February 2020Sunday, 1st March 2020
    7. Tuesday, 3rd March 2020Sunday, 5th April 2020
    8. Wednesday, 15th April 2020Thursday, 30th April 2020
    9. Saturday, 26th December 2020Wednesday, 30th December 2020
  4. Ready for action!
    The only bobsleigh and luge track in Scandinavia. Wheelbob available throughout the summer season.
    1. Saturday, 6th June 2020Saturday, 27th June 2020
    2. Wednesday, 1st July 2020Saturday, 8th August 2020
    3. Saturday, 15th August 2020Saturday, 12th September 2020
    4. Monday, 1st January 0001Friday, 31st December 9999

Major events

Every year, the Lillehammer region plays host to everything from World Cups and other large spectator-based sports tournaments with up to 15 000 participants to cultural events of national and international interest. Read more about major events in Lillehammer and Gudbrandsdalen

  1. By a lake, between forests and steep mountains in the Gudbrandsdalen valley, you can experience Norways most famous folk tale in a spectacular outdoor theatre production. The dramatic poem "Peer Gynt" is staged all over the world, but it was here that Ibsen found his inspiration.
    1. Friday, 31st July 2020Sunday, 2nd August 2020
    2. Wednesday, 5th August 2020Saturday, 8th August 2020
    3. Friday, 30th July 2021Sunday, 8th August 2021
  2. Birkebeinerrittet is the world’s largest MTB event, and more than 17 000 bikers participate in the 94 km race every year.
    1. Saturday, 29th August 2020
    2. Saturday, 28th August 2021
  3. The Norwegian Festival of Literature is the largest of its kind in the Nordic countries, and the most important literary meeting place during springtime. At the end of May each year, literature fills the streets of Lillehammer. 6 days – 30 000 visitors – 400 writers and artists from all over the world!
    1. Friday, 29th May 2020Sunday, 31st May 2020

#visitlillehammer

visitlillehammer